#Canada150 Day 88


On March 29, 1867, the Confederation Act, 1867, known then as the British North America Act, was passed by the British Parliament. The three separate colonies of the Province of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick were unified into the Dominion of Canada and a parliamentary system based on that of Great Britain was established, forming the Government of Canada. The Act came into full effect on July 1, 1867. The provinces of Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Newfoundland were added soon after.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s