PTSD

Today I spent my lunch hour waiting to meet (Ret.) General Romeo Dallaire on Parliament Hill.  I waited so he could sign my copy of his new book “Waiting for First Light: My Battle with PTSD”.

To know that he suffered PTSD like symptoms while he was serving in Rwanda and in many other capacities with the Canadian Armed Forces is a sign of his leadership abilities. He showed leadership during the day and hid his fears and insecurities at night.   He still suffers the effects of a brave military career.  I have written a review of his book and it can be found here: https://wordpress.com/post/redheartbluesign.wordpress.com/1318

After reading this book, I will read “Shaking Hands with the Devil”, his account of serving in Rwanda and in the back of my mind will be the pain and suffering he lived with those days, weeks and months.

15267841_10157746067240858_4452136885342181884_n

Leave a Reply

